Welcome to our schools!

The Federation of North WalshamInfant and Junior Schools


At North Walsham Infant School, we aim to provide a happy, caring and stimulating environment where all children are encouraged to reach their full potential. Every child is at the heart of our curriculum, which has been built to ensure that no child is left behind. We believe that children learn best through hands on experiences that are provided both indoors and outdoors. Children will develop positive attitudes towards learning as they are provided with a curriculum that meets their developmental needs. Positive supportive relationships and high quality interactions are at the heart of everything we teach in the Early Years.  At our school, time is given each day to the direct teaching of reading, phonics, writing and mathematics. This ensures that our children are challenged and prepared for the Year 1 Curriculum and beyond.


As you walk around the Reception classes, you will observe the children engaging in adult–led or child initiated learning activities.

    During their time in Reception, the children will experience and immerse themselves in a broad and balanced curriculum underpinned by effective pedagogy which covers the seven areas of learning as stated in the Early Years Foundation Framework 2021.


    The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework sets the standards that all Early Years Providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children's ‘school readiness' and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


      There are four overarching principles that shape the EYFS. These are:

      • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
      • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
      • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers;
      • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.


      The areas of learning and development

      Within these overarching principles of the EYFS, there are seven areas of learning and development which shape the curriculum in our Reception classes. Three of these areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning; and for building their capacity to learn; form relationships and thrive. These three prime areas are:

      • Communication and Language;
      • Physical development;
      • Personal, Social and Emotional development.

      Alongside these prime areas, we also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. These specific areas are:

      • Literacy;
      • Mathematics;
      • Understanding the World;
      • Expressive Arts and Design